National Conference Planning Committee November 2018 Meeting Notes

The National Conference Planning Committee met via telephone on Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 1:00PM Eastern (12:00PM CST, 11:00AM MST & 10:00AM PST).

Those in attendance were: Sonya Morris (FL) – Committee Chair; Paula Daniels (MI); Otistene Smith (AR); Kathryn Nichol (NH); and Lynn Sodat (VA).

A+ Events Staff: Bob Harmon (NAESPA CEO–WA), Marcus Cheeks (NAESPA DOO–MS), Monica Kemper, (A+ Events Event Director–CA.)

Meeting Agenda

1. Update about speaker and session progress

Bob Harmon explained that there will be <u>over one hundred breakout sessions at the Conference in Kansas City</u>. All presenter contracts have been signed and countersigned. Keynote presentations have also been contracted and the six keynote speakers are:

- Tamir Harper, 19-year old founder of UrbEd, Inc.
- Michael Bonner, 2nd Grade Teacher and inspirational speaker
- Mandy Manning, 2018 National Teacher of the Year
- Helen Easterling Williams, dean of Pepperdine University Graduate School of Education and Psychology
- Horacio Sanchez, Renowned author and Neuroscience expert
- Chris Emdin, STEM professor at Columbia University and creator of #HipHopEd

All sessions have been contracted well in advance this year. Many breakout sessions include speakers who were recommended by the committee, including but not limited to:

- Tom Munk from IDEA Data Center
- Karin Chenoweth from the Education Trust
- Bob Slavin, Evidence for ESSA
- Bill Parrett and Kathleen Budge, from Boise State University
- Simon Gonsoulin, NDTAC
- Patricia Julianelle, SchoolHouse Connection
- Tiffany Winters, Brustein & Manasevit

- Joanne Cashman, NASDSE & Carlas McCauley, WestEd
- Joe Johnson, Urban School Transformation
- Katie Garner, Author & Literacy Consultant
- Tara Brown, The Connection Coach
- Steven Constantino, Family Engagement
- Robert Berry, NCTM
- Linda Bone, Author & Speaker
- Baruti Kafele, Author & Speaker
- 2. Discuss possible nonprofit donation options for speaker gifts

Sonya Morris will select an educational nonprofit organization to donate to on behalf of all presenters. Each presenter will receive a notecard representative of the donation on their behalf and a token bag of personalized M&Ms candies, which has been the presenter gift for the last few years.

3. Discuss Session Host process

Marcus Cheeks explained the importance of having Association Members introduce each session and act as "Session Hosts." Sonya Morris, as President of the Association will act as the host for all six keynotes. All session hosts will use the Conference app on their phone or tablet to access a prewritten introduction, and provide information about the session to staff – such as: Has the speaker arrived? Did the session start on time? Was the room full? Etc.

Session Host sign-ups are open to Committee right now for first selection and will open to the rest of the Association members on November 29th. Instructions on how to sign up to host sessions from ESEAnetwork.org have been emailed to committee members and will be emailed to the Association.

4. Other

The next National Conference Planning Committee Meeting is on Thursday, January 17 2019 at 1:00pm Eastern. Topics to include: the role of the Committee at the Conference and how many sessions still need a session host.